A bag display rack for Three Sixty Ecotique

Posted: May 8, 2010 in Uncategorized
We recently got our messenger bags on display at the Three Sixty Ecotique – a consignment shop in downtown Chico.
It is a great space, with red concrete floors, and high ceilings.  It is also packed with a great variety of vintage clothes, locally-made garments, and now, some firehose ZeekoBags….

Rack_base
Seeing as the place is already packed with clothes and racks, I think that’ll they need a pretty tall rack to hold our bags up high, so we needed a heavy base.  My office is on a big rice farm down by Marysville, and they gave me a few tractor disks when they swapped on new ones this spring, so I used one of them.  I like thinking that these disks were angular and sharp when they were new, and that the fine clay of the valley wore them smooth – that the metal worn off of them is now just so more dust in a rice field.  
The spike here is a 3/4″ bolt that fits snugly inside of the main upright pipe.

Rack_middle
I wanted the arms to be modular, and also adjustable, so I welded them onto 3/4″ bolts that slide into the top of the main pipe.  

Spike_top
This is the top ornament/set of arms.  ReStore lag screws welded to another 3/4″ bolt.

Rack_top_2
A short piece of pipe joins the sets of arms, so you can use just the ornament for a shorter rack.  For a rack with more arms, you’d just use more intermediate lengths of pipe, and make more sets of arms to put in between them…

Rack_loaded
I’m going to take it down there next week – hopefully it works for them.  Stop by and check them out, it is a great shop.  

Location: 511 Main Street, Chico, CA, 95928
Phone: 530 342-8752
Tues – Sat: 10:00 am – 6:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm
If you are interested in custom store fixtures, shoot us an email – I like these metal projects.
Comments
  1. Rob Cochran says:

    Hi Zeek! This is Rob, we met at the Chicoco sale yesterday. I’m the guy who is going to be silent for a year and you said you could make a bag for me to carry my white board and markers in. I would really love it if you you could do this for me. The whiteboard is 9 inches wide and 12 inches tall. I’ll use the bag to carry my white board, markers, note pads, eraser, and other related stuff. You said you could make something for $20 which would be what I can afford. I’m leaving for Burning Man Wednesday morning so I hope you will have time. My e-mail is worldcitizenrob@gmail.com or you can call me at my friend Donna’s at 345-9393. Look forward to hearing from you! 🙂 Love and Light. ❤ Rob Cochran

Leave a Reply

