In the city with Aunt Betsy and Asiatica

Posted: August 20, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags:
Had some work meetings in the city this week that lined up with one of my Aunt Betsy’s Trunk Shows.  She is on a West Coast tour, selling her clothing at shows that she sets up in hotel suites in LA and SFO.  We saw her in March, at her shop in KCKC, but I have never actually been to one of her traveling shows.  I got to spend an evening and morning with Betsy between work meetings.  She is fearless, and is a good guide.  She grew up in the Bay Area and knows the city well.

Img_4053
On my way to my meeting in Berkeley I walked past the house that we lived in until I was 5.  It is still the funkiest neighborhood I passed thru, this is in front of our old house.

 

Had fun field-testing the utility belts in the city and enjoyed looking at what other people were carrying.  They work pretty much just like good cargo pockets, but you don’t have stuff banging on your knees.  I need one that is just a touch larger, and need to make some with snaps or other closures, they felt pretty pickpocketable.

 

Img_4077
Betsy with her jackets.  They are a mix of vintage silk from recycled kimono, and modern Japanese and Italian fabrics.  Clients try them on, and then can pick different fabrics and order a custom one, or have them custom tailored to fit.  Betsy was traveling with her patternmaker Angela, who measures, pins, tailors, takes notes for the girls in the shop back in KC.

 

Img_4085
Parallel-stitching on a collage of vintage kimono fabrics.

 

Img_4087
They use every scrap.

 

Img_4088
Jackets 

 

Img_4091
This is a modern fabric from a Japanese textile house called Nuno. 

Img_4096
I love this one.

 

Img_4097
Collage of Nuno fabric and Indian silk.

 

Img_4104

Aunt Betsy 

We had pisco sours and then walked to the end of the pier by the Ferry building.  She told me a story about riding on a Matson Lines freighter back from Taiwan in 1969 with a bunch of her antiques.  13 days reading on the deck, she arrived with the best tan of her life.

 

Img_4128
I slept on a rollaway in the ‘shop’ room of the suite, and woke up looking at antique silks.

 

I love the frayed edges, and the idea that people will pay a lot of money for something that looks like it was made by hand.  She has given us some ideas to play with like this.

Img_4146
SFO 
Img_4161
We stopped to look at my Grandma’s old house and got a flat tire there, so had some time to look around – met a neighbor that remembered my Oma, who moved away 30 years ago. 
 

Img_4155
Betsy and Angela (patternmaker) near my Grandma’s old house above Haight Ashbury.   
Leave a Reply

