something silky

Posted: July 20, 2011 in Uncategorized
When I went into the studio on Sunday I didn’t feel like working with fire hose. Even though it seemed a bit passé, I started to dig through our tie bin. Here’s the result.

 

Dsc_0156

What are they? Why, neck wraps! We’ve got a theme this season of using random hardware in our wears. So I thought these plumbing washers (or something like that) from the ReStore might look nice on some choice ties.

 

Dsc_0158

 Conchos and belt ends seems to fit well too with the hardware. 

Dsc_0166

First I traced the hole of the washer on the fabric and cut it out. Then I zigzagged in a circle so it wouldn’t fray so bad. Then I attached the washer with embroidery floss (I hand sewed it, a nice change).

 

Dsc_0168

Yep, you guessed it, we’ve got a bin of embroidery floss (otherwise know as colorful string). I’m still in possession of my collection of friendship-bracelet-making string from the late ’80’s. Some friends and I even sold bracelets one week the summer of 10th grade. (this is Erika, BTW; Zeke made lanyards, but not friendship bracelets). 

 

Dsc_0152

This one is fairly short, so I’ve attached a magnet that grips to the washer so the whole thing stays on better.

Dsc_0171

 

Here’s how it’s supposed to look.

Dsc_0172

A close-up of the magnet. 

Dsc_0173

And finally, a picture of a few on a real person.

Leave a Reply

